Congratulations to the 2018 Local Government Road Safety Award Recipients!

Posted on: Tuesday, 16 October 2018 at 12:00:00 AM

Congratulations to the 2018 Local Government Road Safety Award Recipients!

Category awards winners were announced during the WA Transport and Roads Forum held on 16 October.

The 2018 Local Government Road Safety Award recipients are:

  • The Safe System Approach – Road Infrastructure Improvement Award, presented to the City of Stirling for their Scarborough-Doubleview Local Area Traffic Management Precinct Scheme project.
  • The Safe System Approach – Complementary Initiatives Award, presented to the Shire of Northam for their 5 Week Easter Road Safety Campaign.
  • The Safe System Approach – Local Road Safety Partnerships Award, presented to the Shire of Northampton for their Kalbarri RoadWise Committee One Year Action Plan 2017-2018.

Congratulations to all three category winners for their outstanding achievements in moving towards the adoption and application of systems thinking in road infrastructure improvements and supporting projects. Category winners are also commended for fostering Local Government and community road safety partnerships through support of RoadWise Committees.
The Awards acknowledge outstanding achievements by Local Governments in the area of road safety, and recognise innovation in engineering countermeasures contributing to safe system implementation, along with local road safety partnerships and champions.
The calibre of Award submissions this time around made it a difficult decision for the Assessment Panel. WALGA’s RoadWise would like to thank all those who submitted nominations and encourage all Local Governments to continue the excellent work being done. We look forward to receiving submissions for the next Local Government Road Safety Awards.

The Local Government Road Safety Awards is a joint initiative of the WA Local Government Association’s RoadWise and the Institute of Public Works Engineering Australasia – Western Australia Inc.


Pictured above: Cr Stephen Fox (left), pictured with category winners from the Shire of Northam, Shire of Northampton and the City of Stirling, and Acting Road Safety Commissioner, Iain Cameron (right).

For further information about the Local Government Road Safety Awards, visit the RoadWise website;

Back to Search Results