Showcasing the Wanneroo RoadWise Committee

Posted on: Tuesday, 22 December 2015 at 12:00:00 AM

Showcasing the Wanneroo RoadWise Committee

This month we showcase the Wanneroo RoadWise Committee which has been contributing to road safety in the area for more than a decade.

The group (officially known as the City of Wanneroo RoadWise Working Group) meets bi-monthly to discuss issues and coordinate initiatives to address road safety concerns in the local community.


in 2013, Mayor Tracey Roberts signed the WALGA Declaration for Road Safety at the City's annual Blessing of the Roads event, committing the City of Wanneroo to “work towards a future of zero road fatalities and serious injuries on the Western Australian Road Network”.

The City's Review of Default State Speed Limits won the Safe Speed Award at the 2014 Local Government Road Safety Awards. Cr Rudi Steffens also won the 2014 Joe North Award for outstanding commitment, dedication and contribution to road safety in Wanneroo and the wider community.

The above achievements reinforce the Wanneroo RoadWise Committee's ongoing road safety commitment which also includes:

  • Development of an annual road safety action plan which aligns road safety activities to Towards Zero, WA's road safety strategy 2008-2020.
  • Applications to gain BlackSpot Program funding to improve road safety at problem intersections.
  • Working with WA Police on the Enhanced Speed Enforcement Program to address speeding issues on local roads.
  • Implementing the Please Slow Down, Consider Our Kids bin sticker project to encourage drivers to reduce travel speeds in built up areas.
  • Working with local schools to improve road safety around schools.
  • Supporting the WALGA RoadWise Blessing of the Roads campaign with a significant local event each year.
  • Recognising local road safety champions with public presentations of Human Spirit Awards.
  • Organising caravan and trailer checks in December each year for those travelling during the holiday period.
  • Coordinating a Driver Reviver stop on Indian Ocean Drive, 1 kilometre north of the City of Wanneroo boundary in Gingin, run during peak holiday times with the aim of reducing fatigue related crashes by encouraging travellers to take regular breaks. The contribution made by the Wanneroo Driver Reviver operation was acknowledged in 2009 with a Certificate of Recognition from the WALGA RoadWise Program.

Current membership of the City of Wanneroo RoadWise Working Group includes Cr Norman Hewer (Chairperson), Cr Sabine Winton, Cr Dot Newton JP, Manoj Barua, Ryan Gibson, Karen Delves, Bill Street, Ian Payne, Nicola Peries, Sharon Forster and Karen White.
Congratulations to all members for continuing to work towards zero fatalities and serious injuries on our roads.

Visit the Wanneroo RoadWise webpage to find out more about the City of Wanneroo RoadWise Working Group.

Back to Search Results