Great Southern Region

Regional Profile

The Great Southern Region is situated in the south of the state and incorporates 12 Local Government Areas: Albany; Broomehill-Tambellup; Cranbrook; Denmark; Gnowangerup; Jerramungup; Katanning; Kent; Kojonup; Plantagenet; Ravensthorpe; and Woodanilling.The region has a population of around 61,090 and covers an area of 53,702.1 sq kms which incorporates 3,211.69kms of sealed and 10,158.57kms of unsealed roads.

Main industries in the region include tourism, broadacre cropping, wool, timber plantations, livestock production and fishing.

Local Governments





Pictured above: Images from the 2019 Great Southern Road Safety Conference. 

Road Safety Advisor


<< Back To Region List