South West Region

Regional Profile

The South West Region is situated in the South West of the state and incorporates 16 Local Government Areas: Augusta-Margaret River; Boddington; Boyup Brook; Bridgetown-Greenbushes; Bunbury; Busselton; Capel; Collie; Dardanup; Donnybrook-Balingup; Harvey; Mandurah; Manjimup; Murray; Nannup; and Waroona. The region has a population of approximately 258,717 and covers an area of 29,193.7 sq kms which includes 5,308.29kms of sealed and 5,897.8kms of unsealed roads.

The region's main industries include alumina, mineral sands, agriculture, horticulture, forestry, viticulture and tourism.

Local Governments

Road Safety Working Groups

Road Safety Advisor

South West News and Events

South West Councils Remind Drivers, M8 the Call Can W8

 Local Governments in the South West have joined forces to raise awareness of the dangers of using mobile phones whilst driving as part of the M8 the Call Can W8 campaign.

Taking a coordinated approach to help address a local road safety issue, the M8 the Call Can W8 campaign was expanded in the lead up to the Easter long weekend to include five (5) texting bays along the Forrest and South West Highways.

Visual message signs were on display to encourage drivers to pull in to the texting bays, park the car and then make calls or send text messages.

This campaign received funding through the Government of Western Australia’s Road Safety Community Grants Program.

A M8 the Call Can W8 video has also been produced to help promote the campaign. Visit the City of Bunbury's Facebook page (video section) at to watch the video and share with your networks.



Pictured above: Visual message signs display the M8 the Call Can W8 message in the South West; The M8 the Call Can W8 campaign video can be viewed on the City of Bunbury's Facebook page.

Statistics show that almost one-third of all crash fatalities and serious injuries in WA involved driver distraction ( Distracted drivers are dangerous.

<< Back To Region List