RoadWise Councils

RoadWise Councils is a fresh approach by WALGA to proactively engage, motivate and support Local Governments in adopting and applying policies and practices that make an effective and sustainable contribution to the achievement of National and State road safety objectives and targets.

The benefit to Local Governments in becoming a RoadWise Council include:

  • a guaranteed minimum amount of road safety support in Road Safety Advisor support hours,
  • the use of RoadWise branding to promote, to their communities, a commitment to work towards better road safety outcomes,
  • direct access to WALGA’s road safety services, tools and resources, training, and professional development opportunities, and
  • eligibility to participate in the new RoadWise Recognised initiative.

Registered RoadWise Councils

Commenced in August 2023, sixty-seven Local Governments, spread across rural, remote, and urban areas of WA, have registered as a RoadWise Council. These Councils have been working with their dedicated Road Safety Advisor to plan, deliver and evaluate local road safety actions, guided by the RoadWise Framework, to better apply safe system practices and principles.

Registered RoadWise Councils:

  • City of Albany
  • Shire of Ashburton
  • Shire of Augusta-Margaret River
  • City of Bayswater
  • Shire of Beverley
  • Shire of Bridgetown-Greenbushes
  • Shire of Brookton
  • Shire of Broome
  • Shire of Broomehill-Tambellup
  • City of Bunbury
  • Shire of Carnarvon
  • Shire of Collie
  • Shire of Coolgardie
  • Shire of Cranbrook
  • Shire of Cuballing
  • Shire of Dalwallinu
  • Shire of Dardanup
  • Shire of Denmark
  • Shire of Derby West Kimberley
  • Shire of Dowerin
  • Shire of Dundas
  • Shire of East Pilbara
  • Shire of Esperance
  • Shire of Exmouth
  • City of Fremantle
  • Shire of Gingin
  • Shire of Gnowangerup
  • Shire of Harvey
  • Shire of Jerramungup
  • Shire of Katanning
  • Shire of Kulin
  • Shire of Lake Grace
  • Shire of Laverton
  • Shire of Leonora
  • Shire of Manjimup
  • City of Melville
  • Shire of Menzies
  • Shire of Merredin
  • Shire of Mingenew
  • Shire of Morawa
  • Town of Mosman Park
  • Shire of Mt Marshall
  • Shire of Mundaring
  • Shire of Narembeen
  • Shire of Narrogin
  • City of Nedlands
  • Shire of Ngaanyatjarraku
  • Shire of Northam
  • Shire of Northampton
  • Shire of Plantaganet
  • Town of Port Hedland
  • Shire of Ravensthorpe
  • City of Rockingham
  • Shire of Shark Bay
  • City of South Perth
  • Shire of Toodyay
  • Shire of Trayning
  • Shire of Upper Gascoyne
  • Shire of Victoria Plains
  • Shire of Wagin
  • City of Wanneroo
  • Shire of Williams
  • Shire of Wiluna
  • Shire of Woodanilling
  • Shire of Wyalkatchem
  • Shire of Yalgoo

Become a RoadWise Council

To become a RoadWise Council, Local Governments will need to demonstrate a commitment to road safety and regular engagement, with either:

  • a formal Declaration (signed by the Chief Executive Officer and Local Government President/Mayor), or
  • a Resolution of the full Council.

Local Governments will also need to identify and nominate personnel (Elected Members and/or officers) who will be the key contacts for road safety matters.

If your Local Government would like to express an interest in becoming a RoadWise Council, please email RoadWise;