RoadWise Road Safety Awards

The Human Spirit Road Safety Award and Certificate of Appreciation/Recognition, administered by WALGA’s RoadWise, are awarded to members of the community who go above and beyond to demonstrate a commitment to road safety by working together to save lives and reduce road trauma in Western Australia.

Human Spirit Road Safety Award

There are dedicated road safety champions working in local communities across the state and the Human Spirit Road Safety Award provides an opportunity to recognise their valuable contribution.

Recipients are to be commended for working with the Association’s RoadWise Program and other local road safety partners to raise awareness about road safety and help eliminate road crashes as a major cause of premature death and injury in the community.

The Award can be presented at any time of the year, however local events and campaigns can provide an opportune time to present these awards, for example in conjunction with Road Ribbon for Road Safety® or Blessing of the Roads events, or during National Volunteer Week. The Award can be presented by a person deemed suitable by the committee, for example the RoadWise Committee chairperson, Mayor/Shire President or Councillor.

Certificate of Appreciation/Recognition

The Certificate of Appreciation or Certificate of Recognition recognises significant contributions to local road safety (for individuals or groups), such as:

  • Ongoing and distinguished service provided by members of the network. For example, Driver Reviver sites/volunteers, Coffee Stop providers or Type 1 Child Car Restraint Fitters or for outgoing members of RoadWise/road safety committees who have provided ongoing and distinguished service.
  • Outstanding involvement and commitment to improving local road safety. For example, the development and implementation of a comprehensive fleet safety policy for Local Government, or the inclusion and adoption of road safety objectives/activities by groups/committees who do not have road safety as their core purpose.

These certificates are often awarded to outgoing members of road safety committees or retiring members of the network.

Nominate a Local Road Safety Champion

For a copy of the Human Spirit Road Safety Award / Certificate of Appreciation/Recognition Nomination Form, please complete the download form.

Award Recipient List

The RoadWise Road Safety Awards initiative has recognised more than 300 groups and individuals in the past decade. Recent recipients include:

Max Heath - Certificate of Recognition Wheatbelt North
Allan McCormac - Certificate of Recognition
Phil Burgess - Certificate of Recognition Kimberley
Colin Pumphrey - - Certificate of Recognition
Metropolitan North
Alan Gill - Certificate of Recognition Metropolitan South
Mal Humble - Certificate of Recognition Great Southern
Laurie Seton - Certificate of Recognition Great Southern
Deanne Wills - Certificate of Recognition Great Southern
David Parsons - Certificate of Recognition Great Southern
Anne Parsons - Certificate of Recognition Great Southern
Jeff Osborne - Certificate of Recognition Great Southern
Peter Northover - Certificate of Recognition Great Southern
Peter Denton - Certificate of Recognition Great Southern
Geof Denney - Certificate of Recognition Great Southern
Jeff Alderton - Certificate of Recognition Great Southern
Darren Nelson - Certificate of Recognition South West
James Peletier - Certificate of Recognition South West
Phil Rance - Certificate of Recognition South West
Russell Butcher - Certificate of Recognition South West
Ron Wortley - Certificate of Recognition South West
Syd Wilson - Certificate of Recognition South West
Shane Wheeler - Certificate of Recognition South West
Julie Murray (AE) - Certificate of Recognition South West
Tania Giggg - Certificate of Recognition South West
Des Pike - Human Spirit Road Safety Award Mid West
Anne Pike - Human Spirit Road Safety Award Mid West
Glen Norris - Certificate of Appreciation South West
Ryan Gibson Metropolitan North
Rusty Nelligan Metropolitan North
Craig Walker - Certificate of Appreciation Kimberley

Margi Peet

Mid West

Perry Kearney - Certificate of Appreciation

Norm Hewer - Certificate of Appreciation Metropolitan North
Cr Dot Newton Metropolitan North
Bill Street Metropolitan North
Cr Joann Moore - Certificate of Appreciation South West
Vicki Della Bella Gascoyne
Jeanne Lawler Wheatbelt North
Des Pike MidWest
Rudi Steffens Metro North
 Sgt Steve Kent - - Certificate of Appreciation Kimberley
 Dave Vance Metro North
 Jacky Fisher Metro North
 Wanneroo RoadWise Working Group - Certificate of Appreciation Metro North
 John Crompton Metro North
 Arthur Patterson - Certificate of Appreciation Great Southern
 Max Heath - Certificate of Appreciation Wheatbelt North
Alan Ingram - Certificate of Appreciation Kimberley
Derek Bowen Metro North
Keith Murfet - Certificate of Appreciation Goldfields-Esperance
Helen McCormack Goldfields-Esperance
Ernie Rogers - Certificate of Appreciation Great Southern
Judy Hill - Certificate of Appreciation Great Southern

More Information

To discuss a potential nomination or to find how you can become involved in road safety initiatives in your area, contact your closest Regional Road Safety Advisor.